Inspirational Assignment #1

22 09 2010

1. Garbage Receptacle

Garbage Receptacle

This is a photo I took of a garbage receptacle outside State Hall.  It is advertises where you call to place an ad there.  On it, it says “You Just Proved Signs Work”.  It’s not advertising a company or anything, it’s just proving that people will look at anything being advertised there, no matter what it is by drawing your attention in.  Pretty clever.

2. Fuck Art

I found this on DeviantArt, made by user D-O-M-I-N-I-C.

http://d-o-m-i-n-i-c.deviantart.com/

This photo speaks the truth.

Now I’m not saying “fuck art”; I like art of every kind.  There are people out there that say Graphic Design is not art.  It’s not hand made, therefore it’s not true fine art.  That’s a bunch of crap.  How is Graphic Design not art?

art [ahrt] – noun: The quality, production, expression, or realm, according to aesthetic principles, of what is beautiful, appealing, or of more than ordinary significance.

Isn’t that we’re making, things that are beautiful, appealing, or more than ordinary experiences?  How is graphic design not art?  What definition are you people going by?

3. Design

I found this on DeviantArt, made by user MrBadger.

http://mrbadger.deviantart.com/

I like this because I think the best art or design comes from no where.  I feel the more I try to concentrate on making something a certain way before I make it, the less successful it comes out.  Whenever I make something, I just go with the flow.  I try things and tweak things until I think it looks good.  The Mona Lisa probably didn’t turn out how Da Vinci exactly planned from the beginning.

4. Zebra Made in Typography

I found this on a different blog entry on black and white typography.

http://www.graphicdesignblog.org/black-white-typography-graphic-design/

I like well made photos made out of text, like this one.  Sometimes people try it and it doesn’t really work out.  I’m going to try to make some type of photo out of text soon.  I made one out of John Lennon in my senior year in high school, so I can probably make a pretty decent looking one now.

5. Magazine Ad- Swisher Sweets

I found this in my roommate’s College Football magazine.  It’s not very artistic, but I find it humorous.  It’s advertising Swisher Sweets cigarillos.  In the background there are people dancing and having a “sweet” time.  Most of the time, people don’t buy cigarillos and go dance.  People chill and smoke those.  Or, break them open and use them for some other type of smoke-able plant, not tobacco.  It made me smirk when I saw this.


Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

